European Badger

Happy National Badger Day!

Happy National Badger Day!

In celebration of the Badger Trust’s National Badger Day, we’ve compiled together a list of need-to-know facts about this fascinating mammal’s ecology.

  • The badger belongs to the family Mustelidae, which also encompasses other UK mammals such as otters, mink, polecats and pine martens.
  • There are eight different species of badger worldwide.
  • A male badger is called a boar, females are sows, and young are cubs.
  • Badgers live in networks of underground burrows, called sets, some of which can be centuries old.
  • Badgers do not defecate in their setts, instead, they use distinct toilet areas called latrines.
  • It is possible to estimate badger population size and range by feeding badgers coloured pellets and tracking in which latrine they end up.
  • Badgers are omnivores and forage predominantly using their keen sense of smell.
  • Badger prints are distinguishable from dogs and foxes due to their five toes and long claws.
  • The Welsh name for badger is moch daear, which translates as ‘earth pig’.
  • Badgers are protected in the UK by the protection of Badgers Act 1992, and schedule 6 of the Wildlife and Countryside Act 1981.
  • They are classified as a ‘Species of  Conservation Concern’ by the UK Biodiversity Action Plan.

The Badger Trust has produced a film for badger day.

The optimal time for conducting badger surveys is fast approaching, beginning in November. For more information on how we can assist you with badger surveys call 029 2065 0331 or email Alternatively, check out our badger article for more badger related information!